‘Jojo Rabbit,’ ‘Avengers’ ‘Frozen’ among Casting noms

Thursday, The Casting Society of America (CSA) announced the film nominees for the 35th Artios Awards, which honor the contribution of Casting Directors to film, television and theatre. The winners will be revealed on Thursday, January 30, 2020 in ceremonies in Los Angeles, New York City and London.

First held in 1985, the Artios Awards honor CDs in more than 20 different categories encompassing film, television and theatre. In addition, special honorees are selected for their contributions to the craft. Nominees and winners are voted on by members in good standing of the Casting Society of America. Key dates are below and nominations and additional information will be announced in the coming months.

“The art of casting for film continued to shine this year, as represented in this noteworthy list of projects. Joining our television and theatre nominees, these talented Casting Directors exemplify the range of skills and expertise throughout our craft,” said Russell Boast, President, CSA. “The 35th Artios Awards will put a spotlight on the year’s outstanding contributions from our members as we collectively build on this year’s achievements for an even stronger future.”  

CSA previously announced the television and theatre nominees and this year’s honorees  including Academy Award® winner and advocate Geena Davis, who will receive the Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement, and Emmy, Grammy and Tony Award winner Audra McDonald, who will be honored with the Marion Dougherty New York Apple Award.

ALSO READ: Stars turn out for AFI Awards Luncheon|Gallery

Among the CDs being recognized are Deborah Aquila, a three-time Artios Award winner for her work on La La LandMy Week with Marilyn and Red, who will receive The Hoyt Bowers Award, and Andy Pryor, an Emmy nominee and stalwart in the British casting community for his work on projects including Stan & OllieDr. WhoCold Feet and Call the Midwife, who will be honored with the Excellence in Casting Award at the London ceremony.

The film nominees for the 35th Artios Awards are:


  • Abominable – Christi Soper Hilt
  • Frozen 2 – Jamie Sparer Roberts, Sarah Raoufpur (Associate)The Lion King – Sarah Halley Finn, Jason B. Stamey (Associate) 
  • How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World – Christi Soper Hilt
  • Toy Story 4 – Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

Big Budget – Comedy

  • Dolemite Is My Name – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham Ahanonu
  • Hustlers – Gayle Keller
  • Knives Out – Mary Vernieu, Angela Peri (Location Casting), Brett Howe (Associate)
  • Rocketman – Reginald Poerscot-Edgerton
    Uncut Gems – Francine Maisler 

Big Budget – Drama

  • 1917 – Nina Gold
  • The Irishman – Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
  • Joker – Shayna Markowitz
  • Little Women – Francine Maisler, Kathy Driscoll-Mohler, Douglas Aibel (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting)
  • Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood – Victoria Thomas 

Studio or Independent – Comedy

  • Brittany Runs A Marathon – Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox
  • The Dead Don’t Die – Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
  • The Farewell – Leslie Woo
    Jojo Rabbit – Des Hamilton 
  • Late Night – Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox, Kimberly Ostroy (Associate)
  • Poms – Mary Vernieu, Marisol Roncali, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)

Studio or Independent – Drama

  • Harriet – Kim Coleman, Erica Arvold (Location Casting), Anne Chapman (Location Casting), Meghan Apostoles (Associate)
  • Honey Boy – Chelsea Ellis Bloch, John Papsidera
  • Judy – Fiona Weir, Alice Searby 
  • Marriage Story – Francine Maisler, Douglas Aibel, Kathy Driscoll-Mohler (Associate)
  • Waves – Avy Kaufman, Mark Mullen (Location Casting) 

Low Budget – Comedy or Drama

  • Clemency – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Roya Semnanian (Associate)
  • Diane – Jodi Angstreich
  • The Last Black Man in San Francisco – Julia Kim, Nina Henninger (Location Casting)
  • Skin – Jodi Angstreich, Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox
    Them That Follow – John McAlary, Orly Sitowitz 

Micro Budget – Comedy or Drama

  • Low Tide – Susan Shopmaker, Lois Drabkin
  • Mickey and the Bear – Avy Kaufman
  • Skin in the Game – Matthew Lessall
  • The True Don Quixote – Stephanie Holbrook, Ryan Glorioso (Location Casting), Justin Coulter (Associate)
  • The Wind – Meg Morman, Sunday Boling

The Zeitgeist Award

  • Avengers: EndGame – Sarah Halley Finn, Chase Paris (Location Casting), Tara Feldstein Bennett (Location Casting), Jason B. Stamey (Associate)
  • It Chapter 2 – Rich Delia, Stephanie Gorin (Location Casting), Coco Kleppinger (Associate)
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Angela Young (Associate)

Ron Funches will serve as host for the Los Angeles event, with Michelle Buteau hosting the New York ceremony.

SOURCE: Casting Society of America