AMP Awards announces curatorial committee lineup

(Courtesy AMP Awards)

The 2022 AMP Awards announced the lineup for its Curatorial Committee as the competition puts plans in place for its first live trophy presentation since 2019.

On hand to congratulate the winners and help bestow the trophies will be the 2022 AMP Awards Show Chair, Julia Neumann, Chief Creative Officer of Johannes Leonardo.

She presided over a recent curatorial session during which AMP’s team of curators reviewed the finalists in each category, confirmed that the winners met the parameters of each category and selected the competition’s highest honor, the Ryan Barkan Award for Best in Show.

Serving on the 2022 AMP Awards Curatorial Committee, in addition to Neumann, was a prestigious roster of creative advertising leaders, music producers and music supervisors. It includes:

  • Frank Anselmo, Executive Creative Director, New York Mets
  • Beliansh Assefa, Associate Music Producer, Townhouse Worldwide
  • Justin Chen, Group Creative Director, McCann New York
  • Mary Crosse, Freelance Executive Producer
  • Colleen Dahlstrom, Music Producer, McCann New York
  • Ben Dorenfeld, Director of Music, Anomaly
  • Damien Escobar, Director of Music and Culture, Arnold
  • Maria Perez, Head of Production, Johannes Leonardo
  • Brandy Ricker, Freelance Music Supervisor, Droga5
  • Sarah Tembeckjian, Independent Music Supervisor
  • Nick von Zumwalt, Music Supervisor, Movers + Shakers

“What you hear can make a difference,” says Neumann. “Music has the power to make us feel, and our winners accomplished that in unique and powerful ways. Working with the artists, publishers, agency creative teams and brands in this jury was invaluable to the Show. It was a truly enjoyable and enlightening experience.”

REELated: MARVIN, Porsche Cars create Sound and Driven music series

“We’re flattered to have such a diverse and accomplished group helping to ensure that the very best work was being recognized and honored at the 2022 AMP Awards,” says Georg Bissen of MetaTechnik, National Board President of the Association of Music Producers, sponsors of the AMP Awards.” As our show returns to Sony Hall for the first time in three years, we’re excited about the quality of our entries and the response our Curatorial Committee showed when they reviewed the work. It bodes well for a great event on May 24!”

The AMP Awards also announced that they’re holding a special event on May 23, the night before the AMP Awards, to honor and celebrate its winners in 2020 and 2021 during its virtual presentations.

The event, which will take place at a private venue featuring both indoor and outdoor areas and an imposing view of the Hudson River, is open to winners from both years, curatorial committee members and others close to the awards competition.

Tickets are now on sale and can be purchased on the AICP website here. Prices are $185 for non-AMP members, $150 for AMP members. The event takes place on Tuesday, May 24 at Sony Hall, 235 W 46 Street in Manhattan, with the doors opening at 6:45 pm and the presentation kicking off at 8 pm.

Follow us on our new Facebook page!