‘1917’ wins Producers Guild Award for Best Picture

Officially consider Sam Mendes harrowing World War 1 drama, 1917, as the frontrunner to win the Oscar for Best Picture. One of the awards season’s marquee events, the Producers Guild Awards celebrates the finest producing work of the year, and gives the Guild an opportunity to honor some of the living legends who have shaped our profession.

Considered a strong prognosticator for the Best Picture Oscar, the announcement of the Guild’s Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures is one of the most eagerly-anticipated of the season.

Just like its two protagonists on a mission, the single-take film captured the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures, and inflicting heavy losses on the other nominees.

Sharing the award with co-producers Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, and Callum McDougall, Mendes now holds the Golden Globe for Best Director of a Motion Picture and the crystal trophy for Best Director from the Critics’ Choice Awards, and has also captured local film critics association awards from Dallas-Fort Worth to Kansas City.

Harris’ acceptance was sobering and poignant, “these times of division and conflict around the world, I really hope [1917] is just a reminder to never take for granted the peace that we all inherited.”

Mendes paid tribute to his grandfather, who inspired the story, and every single member of the crew.

“To work with so many artists all working at the peak of their craft — led, of course, by [cinematographer] Roger Deakins — was humbling and joyful and by far the best experience of my professional life.”

ALSO READ: Phoenix, Aniston, ‘Parasite’ & other SAG winners

As for the rest of the winners of the 2020 PGA Awards, you can find the full list below. Winners appear in BOLD.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

Ford v Ferrari
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Knives Out
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Picture

American Factory
Apollo 11
The Cave
For Sama
One Child Nation
Luxury Retirement HomesAd by The New York Times See More

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama

Big Little Lies (Season 2)
The Crown (Season 3)
Game of Thrones (Season 8)
Succession (Season 2)
Watchmen (Season 1)

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

Barry (Season 2)
Fleabag (Season 2)
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Season 3)
Schitt’s Creek (Season 5)
Veep (Season 7)

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

True Detective
When They See Us

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

American Son
Apollo: Missions to the Moon
Black Mirror: Striking Vipers
Deadwood: The Movie
El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

30 for 30 (Season 10)
60 Minutes (Season 51, Season 52)
Leaving Neverland
Queer Eye (Season 3, Season 4)
Surviving R. Kelly (Season 1)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

The Daily Show with Trevor Noah (Season 25)
Dave Chappelle: Sticks & Stones
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 6)
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Season 5)
Saturday Night Live (Season 45)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

The Amazing Race (Season 31)
The Masked Singer (Season 1)
RuPaul’s Drag Race (Season 11)
Top Chef (Season 16)
The Voice (Season 16, Season 17)

SOURCE: Producers Guild Awards