Writers Guild announces its 2018 nominees


The Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced their nominations for Best original and Best Adapted Screenplay as well as video game writing and documentary writing. this morning. Most of the screenplays have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in screenwriting and videogame writing during 2018.

The Guild continues to nominate the once-ignored superhero film. Last year, the Guild nominated Logan from writer/director James Mangold and this year, the critically-acclaimed Marvel’s Black Panther, Written by Ryan Coogler & Joe Robert Cole has nabbed a nom.

SpikeDDB Executive Creative Director, Spike Lee, also received a nomination for his very worthy Blackkklansman.

   Eighth Grade, Written by Bo Burnham; A24
   Green Book, Written by Nick Vallelonga & Brian Currie & Peter Farrelly; Universal
   A Quiet Place, Screenplay by Bryan Woods & Scott Beck and John Krasinski, Story by
   Bryan Woods & Scott Beck; Paramount
   Roma, Written by Alfonso Cuarón; Netflix
   Vice, Written by Adam McKay; Annapurna Pictures

   Blackkklansman, Written by Charlie Wachtel & David Rabinowitz and Kevin Willmott &
   Spike Lee, Based on the book by Ron Stallworth; Focus Features
   Black Panther, Written by Ryan Coogler & Joe Robert Cole, Based on the Marvel Comics
   by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
   Can You Ever Forgive Me?, Screenplay by Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty, Based on
   the book by Lee Israel; Fox Searchlight
   If Beale Street Could Talk, Screenplay by Barry Jenkins, Based on the novel by James
   Baldwin; Annapurna Pictures
   A Star is Born, Screenplay by Eric Roth and Bradley Cooper & Will Fetters, Based on the
   1954 screenplay by Moss Hart and the 1976 screenplay by John Gregory Dunne & Joan
   Didion and Frank Pierson, Based on a story by William Wellman and Robert Carson;
   Warner Bros.

ALSO READ: AFI Awards 2018 celebrates 21 films and TV series

   Bathtubs Over Broadway, Written by Ozzy Inguanzo & Dava Whisenant; Focus Features
   Fahrenheit 11/9, Written by Michael Moore; Briarcliff Entertainment
   Generation Wealth, Written by Lauren Greenfield; Amazon Studios
   In Search of Greatness, Written by Gabe Polsky; Art of Sport


Assassin’s Creed Odyssey, Associate Narrative Directors Matthew Zagurak, Joel Janisse, James Richard Mittag; Narrative Director Melissa MacCoubrey; Story by Jonathan Dumont, Melissa MacCoubrey, Hugo Giard; Scriptwriters Madeleine Hart, Betty Robertson, Jesse Scoble, Diana Sherman, Kelly Bender, Jojo Chia, Ian Fun, Zachary M. Parris, Ken Williamson, Daniel Bingham, Jordan Lemos, Simon Mackenzie, Katelyn MacMullin, Susan Patrick, Alissa Ralph, Stephen Rhodes; Team Lead Writer Sam Gill; AI Writers Jonathan Flieger, Kimberly Ann Sparks; Ubisoft Quebec

Batman: The Enemy Within, Episode 5-Same Stitch, Lead Writer James Windeler; Written by Meghan Thornton, Ross Beeley, Lauren Mee; Story by Meghan Thornton, Michael Kirkbride; Telltale Games

God of War, Written by Matt Sophos, Richard Zangrande Gaubert, Cory Barlog; Story and Narrative Design Lead Matt Sophos; Story and Narrative Design Richard Zangrande Gaubert; Narrative Design Orion Walker, Adam Dolin; Sony Interactive Entertainment

Marvel’s Spider-Man, Story Lead Jon Paquette; Writers Benjamin Arfmann, Kelsey Beachum; Co-Written by Christos Gage; Additional Story Contributions by Dan Slott; Insomniac Games & Sony Interactive Entertainment

Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire, Narrative Designers Alex Scokel, Eric Fenstermaker, Kate Dollarhyde, Megan Starks, Olivia Veras, Paul Kirsch; Additional Writing Tony Evans, John Schmautz, Casey Hollingshead, Nitai Poddar; Narrative Design Leads Carrie Patel, Josh Sawyer; Obsidian Entertainment

Acclaimed actress-writer-comedian Chelsea Peretti (Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Parks and Recreation) is set to host the 2019 Writers Guild Awards L.A. show. Winners will be honored at the 2019 Writers Guild Awards on Sunday, February 17, at concurrent ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.

Source: WGA