Jennifer Hudson, H.E.R, Wonder Years earn NAACP Image noms

(Image Award noms)

The full list of nominees for the “53rd NAACP Image Awards” were announced earlier this week in a special virtual event on NAACP’s Instagram channel hosted by actress and musician Kyla Pratt, Black-ish actor Marcus Scribner and singer-songwriter Tinashe (@naacpimageawards). 

The winners will be revealed during the two-hour LIVE TV special, which will be hosted by seven-time NAACP Image Awards Winner Anthony Anderson, airing Saturday, February 26th, 2022 at 8:00 PM ET/PT on BET. 

BET and the NAACP place the health and safety of attendees, staff, vendors, and partners first. Due to the ever-changing developments with COVID-19 and variants, the powerful night in Black excellence will continue to move forward without an in-person audience in a not-to-be-missed event.

Netflix leads nominations across motion picture and television + streaming categories. Insecure received the most nominations in the television + streaming categories. H.E.R. received the most nominations in the music recording categories. RCA Records received the most nominations across record labels. Amistad leads nominations across literary categories.

“We are thrilled to recognize this year’s nominees, who have all brought dynamic, entertaining, and thought-provoking content to our attention through their incredible work in film, television, music and more,” said Chairman, Image Awards Committee, Karen Boykin-Towns.

“The BET team is immensely proud to continue our partnership with the NAACP and the annual Image Awards, underpinning our longstanding legacy of celebrating Black Excellence,” added Scott Mills, BET President, and CEO. “It is an extraordinary privilege to provide our unparalleled platforms to recognize the vast contributions of Black creators, in a way that only BET, and NAACP can.”

Recognized as the nation’s preeminent multicultural awards show from an African-American perspective, the “53rd NAACP Image Awards” celebrates the outstanding achievements and performances of people of color across more than 80 competitive categories spanning film, television + streaming, music, literature, and podcasts.

The awards will also include four new podcast categories:  Outstanding News and Information Podcast; Outstanding Lifestyle / Self-Help Podcast; Outstanding Society and Culture Podcast; and Outstanding Arts and Entertainment Podcast. 

Voting is now open to the public to determine the winners of the “53rd NAACP Image Awards” by visiting – Voting closes on February 5, 2022. Winners will be revealed during the “53rd NAACP Image Awards” telecast on February 26, 2022, on BET.

NAACP will also recognize winners in non-televised Image Awards categories February 21-25, which will stream on For all information and the latest news, please follow NAACP Image Awards on Instagram @NAACPImageAwards.

REELated: Loki, WandaVision, Them, Morning Show among WGA 2022 Award noms

The full list of nominees can be found below:

Entertainer of the year

  • Jennifer Hudson
  • Lil Nas X
  • Megan Thee Stallion
  • Regina King
  • Tiffany Haddish

Outstanding motion picture

  • “Judas and the Black Messiah”
  • “King Richard”
  • “Respect”
  • “The Harder They Fall”
  • “The United States vs. Billie Holiday”

Outstanding actor in a motion picture

  • Denzel Washington, “The Tragedy of Macbeth”
  • Jonathan Majors, “The Harder They Fall”
  • LaKeith Stanfield, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
  • Mahershala Ali, “Swan Song”
  • Will Smith, “King Richard”

Outstanding actress in a motion picture

  • Andra Day, “The United States vs. Billie Holiday”
  • Halle Berry, “Bruised”
  • Jennifer Hudson, “Respect”
  • Tessa Thompson, “Passing”
  • Zendaya, “Malcolm & Marie”

Outstanding supporting actor in a motion picture

  • Algee Smith, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
  • Delroy Lindo, “The Harder They Fall”
  • Idris Elba, “The Harder They Fall”
  • LaKeith Stanfield, “The Harder They Fall”

Outstanding supporting actress in a motion picture

  • Aunjanue Ellis, “King Richard”
  • Audra McDonald, “Respect”
  • Danielle Deadwyler, “The Harder They Fall”
  • Dominique Fishback, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
  • Regina King, “The Harder They Fall”

Outstanding animated motion picture

  • “Encanto”
  • “Luca”
  • “Raya and the Last Dragon”
  • “Sing 2″
  • “Vivo”

Outstanding comedy series

  • “black-ish”
  • “Harlem”
  • “Insecure”
  • “Run the World”
  • “The Upshaws”

Outstanding actor in a comedy series

  • Anthony Anderson, “black-ish”
  • Cedric the Entertainer, “The Neighborhood”
  • Don Cheadle, “Black Monday”
  • Elisha “EJ” Williams, “The Wonder Years”
  • Jay Ellis, “Insecure”

Outstanding actress in a comedy series

  • Issa Rae, “Insecure”
  • Loretta Devine, “Family Reunion”
  • Regina Hall, “Black Monday”
  • Tracee Ellis Ross, “black-ish”
  • Yvonne Orji, “Insecure”

Outstanding drama series

  • “9-1-1″
  • “All American”
  • “Godfather of Harlem”
  • “Pose”
  • “Queen Sugar”

Outstanding actor in a drama series

  • Billy Porter, “Pose”
  • Damson Idris, “Snowfall”
  • Forest Whitaker, “Godfather of Harlem”
  • Kofi Siriboe, “Queen Sugar”
  • Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”

Outstanding actress in a drama series

  • Angela Bassett, “9-1-1″
  • Dawn-Lyen Gardner, “Queen Sugar”
  • Octavia Spencer, “Truth Be Told”
  • Queen Latifah, “The Equalizer”
  • Rutina Wesley, “Queen Sugar”

Outstanding television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

  • “Colin in Black & White”
  • “Genius: Aretha”
  • “Love Life”
  • “Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia”
  • “The Underground Railroad”

Outstanding actor in a television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

  • Anthony Mackie, “Solos”
  • Jaden Michael, “Colin in Black & White”
  • Kevin Hart, “True Story”
  • Wesley Snipes, “True Story”
  • William Jackson Harper, “Love Life”

Outstanding actress in a television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

  • Betty Gabriel, “Clickbait”
  • Cynthia Erivo, “Genius: Aretha”
  • Danielle Brooks, “Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia”
  • Jodie Turner-Smith, “Anne Boleyn”
  • Taraji P. Henson, “Annie Live!”

Outstanding new artist

  • Cynthia Erivo
  • Jimmie Allen
  • Saweetie
  • Tems
  • Zoe Wees

Outstanding male artist

  • Anthony Hamilton
  • Drake
  • Givēon
  • J. Cole
  • Lil Nas X

Outstanding female artist

  • H.E.R.
  • Ari Lennox
  • Beyoncé
  • Chlöe
  • Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding album

  • “An Evening With Silk Sonic,” Silk Sonic
  • “Back of My Mind,” H.E.R.
  • “Certified Lover Boy,” Drake
  • “Heaux Tales,” Jazmine Sullivan
  • “When It’s All Said and Done… Take Time,” Givēon


Internationally, the show will air on BET Africa at 20:00 CAT on February 27, followed by BET France on March 2 at 8:45 pm CEST. The show will also be available to watch on My5 and Sky On-Demand in the UK beginning March 1..