Daytime Emmy winners announced

Hosted by Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba and Marie Osmond, The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of the 47th annual Daytime Emmys Awards.

Broadcast on the CBS Television Network, The Young and the Restless was named the year’s outstanding drama series and Jeopardy, The Ellen DeGeneres and The View also won during the virtual ceremony.

The win is the 11th in the category for The Young and the Restless, placing it two behind the all-time leader, General Hospital.

The Outstanding Game Show Emmy was given to Jeopardy! for the record 17th time. (The $20,000 Pyramid and its successor, The $25,000 Pyramid, are second with nine total wins.)

NBC’s Today Show was named the outstanding morning show. The Bay the Series won in the Outstanding Digital Drama Series category, the fifth time in the last six years it has done so.

“Tonight, we did not let the worldwide pandemic of COVID-19 keep us from honoring some of the most talented contributors to our Daytime Television community,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS.  “We celebrated not only the best programming and performances of the last year, but reflected on the legacy of Daytime’s biggest moments and icons.”

In addition to the women of The Talk, presenters and other stars that appeared included Gayle King (CBS This Morning), Kelsey Grammer (Light as a Feather, Cheers, Frasier), Melody Thomas Scott (The Young and the Restless), Kathie Lee Gifford (Live! With Regis and Kathie Lee, Today Show), Cookie Monster (Sesame Street), Scott Evans (Access Hollywood, World of Dance), Patrika Darbo (Studio City, Days of our Lives, The Bold and the Beautiful), Kevin Frazier (Entertainment Tonight), Wayne Brady (Let’s Make a Deal, The Bold and the Beautiful), Michael Strahan (Good Morning America, GMA3 Strahan, Sara & Keke), James Reynolds (Days of our Lives), Jacqueline MacInnes Wood (The Bold and the Beautiful), Maurice Benard (General Hospital), Kelly Ripa and Ryan Seacrest (Live with Kelly and Ryan),  Nate Burleson (EXTRA), Sunny Hostin (The View), and Eric Braeden (The Young and the Restless).

Nineteen categories including Outstanding Drama Series, Outstanding Morning Show, Outstanding Culinary Program, Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show, Outstanding Actor and Actress in a Drama Series, plus many more were presented on the CBS broadcast.

ALSO READ: Golden Globes pushed from January to February 2021

Outstanding Drama Series: “The Young and the Restless”
Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actress in a Drama Series: Heather Tom, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actor in a Drama Series: Jason Thompson, “The Young and the Restless”
Outstanding Entertainment News Show: “Entertainment Tonight”
Outstanding Writing Team for a Drama Series: “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Outstanding Digital Drama Series: “The Bay the Series”
Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host: Kelly Clarkson, “The Kelly Clarkson Show”
Outstanding Game Show Host: Alex Trebek, “Jeopardy!”
Outstanding Game Show: “Jeopardy!”
Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series: “General Hospital”
Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show: “The Ellen DeGeneres Show”
Outstanding Informative Talk Show: “The View”
Outstanding Young Performer in a Drama Series: Olivia Rose Keegan, “Days of Our Lives”
Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Program: “The People’s Court”
Outstanding Special Class Special: “Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration”
Outstanding Culinary Series: “Giada Entertains”
Outstanding Morning Show: “Today Show”
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Tamara Braun, “General Hospital”
Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Bryton James, “The Young and the Restless”

Digital Drama categories will be streamed in a separate virtual ceremony on July 19th. Children’s, Animation, Family Viewing and Lifestyle Programming categories will be streamed in an additional virtual ceremony on July 26th.  More details and information regarding these programs will be released at a future date.

Subscribe: Sign up for our FREE e-lert here.  Stay on top of the latest advertising, film, TV, entertainment and production news!

All voting was tabulated by the accounting firm of Lutz and Carr CPAs, LLP.  A full list of tonight’s winners follows and is also available on our website,

SOURCE: The Television Academy