Execs from Disney, Lifetime join AFM speaker lineup


(AFM will move online this year)

The American Film Market (AFM) announced today more confirmed speakers for this year’s Conferences and programming which runs alongside the marketplace and industry screenings.

Over six days, more than 150 thought leaders, decision-makers and experts will discuss topics and issues most relevant to global filmmakers across three dedicated stages.

This year’s market takes place November 6 – 13 in Santa Monica and marks its 40th edition. AFM Conferences will kick off on Friday, November 8 on the AFM main stage at the Fairmont Hotel.

Highlights include:

The opening Conference will feature Breaking the Mold: The Innovators bringing together Erik Feig, CEO, Picturestart, Tim League, Founder, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, and Aron Levitz, Head of Wattpad Studios, and Tom Quinn, Founder & CEO, NEON.

As part of its new Television Conference, network executives including Disney’s VP of Original Programming, Lauren Kisilevsky, the History Channel’s VP of Development and Programming, Mike Stiller, and Lifetime Original Movie’s Vice President of Programming, Tia Maggini will take the stage to present their feature-length programming needs and priorities.

The Producing for the International Pre-sales Marketplace panel featuring Miranda Bailey, CEO, Cold Iron Pictures, Sherryl Clark, President, Production, The H Collective, Mark Gooder, Co-President, Cornerstone Films and Nat McCormick, EVP, Worldwide Distribution, The Exchange.

Producer Effie Brown will join AFM’s popular Pitch Conference as a panelist and advisor.

ALSO READ: AFM to spotlight immersive tech for 40th edition

New speakers for the Immersive Summit presented by Winston Baker include Rick Hack, Head of Media & Entertainment Partnerships, Intel Studios, Laura Hertzfeld, Director of XR Partnerships, Verizon Media’s Yahoo! News, Randal Kleiser, Film Director, and Lauren Xandra, Director of Strategic Initiatives, National Research Group.

In addition, the AFM’s Palisades Stage at the Loews Hotel will host Roundtables and Presentations exploring specialized and timely issues. Highlights include:

Audiences Want More: Bringing Diverse Projects to the Marketplace – presented in partnership with ReFrame and featuring Glen Basner, CEO, FilmNation, Producers Zanne Devine and Cassian Elwes, and Monica Levinson, President of Production, ShivHans Pictures.

Seizing the Moment: Producing LGBTQ Content in a Time of Unprecedented Visibility – presented in partnership with Outfest and featuring River Gallo, Writer/Director/Star, Ponyboi, Stephen Kelliher, Director, Sales & Marketing, Bankside Films, Keya Khayatian, Partner, United Talent Agency, LaShawn McGhee, Co-Founder & CPO, Revry, and Valerie Stadler Big Swing Productions & Outfest Board of Directors.

Distributing & Monetizing Feature Documentaries with Josh Braun, Co-President, Submarine Entertainment, Alexandra Johnes, Producer, Very Special Projects, Melanie Miller, Co-Founder/Producer, Fishbowl Films, and Evan Saxon, Head of West Coast Acquisitions and Business Development, Abramorama.

Respecting the Genre: Why Some Horror Films Work While Others Don’t with Roxanne Benjamin, Producer, V/H/S, Southbound, Patrick Ewald, CEO, Epic Pictures, and Natalie Metzger, VP, Development & Production, Vanishing Angle.

Shooting Intimate Scenes – with Amanda Blumenthal, Intimacy Coordinator, Euphoria, The L Word: Generation Q, Penny Dreadful: City of Angels and Founder of Intimacy Professionals Association.

The exciting full list of 2019 speakers announced to date are:

Adam Lewinson, Tubi TV
Alexandra Jones, Very Special Projects
Alex Ferrari, Indie Film Hustle
Alysa Nahmias, Ajna Films
Amanda Blumenthal, Intimacy Professionals Association
Amanda Marshall, Cold Iron Pictures
Anthony Layser, Xumo
Arjun Mendhi, MTonomy
Baba Uppal, Secret Location
Barbara Mudge, Worldwide Film Entertainment
Benjamin Wiessner, Producer
Brad Krevoy, Motion Picture Corporation of America
Bruce Eisen, Digital Advisors
Cassian Elwes, Producer
Clay Epstein, Film Mode Entertainment
Colin McCormack, SAGIndie
Cynthia Tollett, DGA
Darren Ehlers, Entertainment Partners
David Offenberg, Loyola Marymount
David White, SHIFT72
Denise Denson, MTonomy
Dr. Patrice Poujol, Lumiere
Effie Brown, Producer
Emmanuel Itier, The Wonderland Group
Erik Feig, Picturestart
Eunice Shin, PROPHET
Evan Saxon, Abramorama
Floris Bauer, Gunpowder & Sky
George Campanellas, Invest Cyprus
Glen Basner, FilmNation
Gregg Schwenk, Newport Beach Film Festival
Heather Rae, Iron Circles Pictures
Illya Szilak, Cloudred
Ivo Felt, Allfilm
Jānis Kalējs, Producer
Jason M. Berman, Mandalay Pictures
Jeff Shultz, Chief Business Officer, Pluto TV
Jennifer Chavarria, Kite & Lightning
Joanelle Romero, Red Nation Celebration Institute
John Hadity, EP Financial Solutions
John Zois, Anton
Jordana Mollick, Semi-Formal Productions
Josh Braun, Submarine Entertainment
Joy Ganes, Producer
Julian Franco, Vudu
Karen Robson, Pryor Cashman LLP
Katherine MacDonald, Paramount Pictures
Katya Mtsitouridze, ROSKINO
Kayvan Mashayekh, Producers Without Borders
Keya Khayatian, United Talent Agency
LaShawn McGhee, Revry
Laura Hertzfeld, Verizon Media’s Yahoo! News
Lauren Kisilevsky, The Disney Channel
Lauren Xandra, National Research Group
Lee Jessup, lessjessup.com
Linda Nelson, IndieRights
Lise Anderson, WGAW
Manuel Badel, Badel Media
Mark Gooder, Cornerstone Films
Marko Post, VFX Specialist
Megan Gilbride, Producer
Melanie Miller, Fishbowl Films
Michalis P. Michael, Invest Cyprus
Mike Stiller, History Channel
Miranda Bailey, Cold Iron Pictures
Monica Levinson,ShivHans Pictures
Myfa Cirinna, Entertainment Partners
Nat McCormick, The Exchange
Natalie Metzger, Vanishing Angle
Patrick Ewald, Epic Pictures
Paul Audley, FilmLA
Paul Bales, The Asylum
Paul Hertzberg, CineTel Films, Inc.
Pierre David, ReelOne/Lance Entertainment
Pilar Alessandra, On the Page
Randal Kleiser, Randal Kleiser Productions
Randi Feldman, Cinema Workshops
Richard Botto, Stage 32
Rick Hack, Intel Studios
River Gallo, Ponyboi
Roxanne Benjamin, Producer
Russell Schwartz, Pandemic Marketing Group
Ryan Koo, No Film School
Shaked Berenson, Wood Entertainment
Sherryl Clark, The H Collective
Sr. Rose Pacatte, Pauline Center for Media Studies
Stephen Kelliher, Bankside Films
Steve Nicholaides, Producer
Steven Wolfson, UCLA
Suzy Sammons, The Giving Company
Tanel Toom, Director
Ted Schilowitz, Paramount Pictures
Tia Maggini, Lifetime Network
Tim League, Alamo Drafthouse
Tobin Armbrust, Virgin Produced
Tom Quinn, NEON
Tony Vassiliadis, MarVista Entertainment
Trevor Crafts, Macrocosm
Valerie Stadler, Big Swing Productions / Outfest
William Bibbiani, Bloody Disgusting
Zanne Devine, Producer

View the full programming lineup for AFM 2019 here. Stay tuned to Reel 360 as we cover more of the upcoming market.

SOURCE: American Film Market